WB Assembly : Violence marred 4th phase polling -4 dead in CoochBehar; polling 76.16 %

ECI adjourns polling in PS 126 of 5-Sitalkuchi (SC) AC, CoochBehar

WB Assembly: Violence marred 4th phase polling -4 dead in CoochBehar; polling 76.16 %


Polling was conducted in15,940 Polling Stations spread across 44 Assembly Constituencies today, in the fourth phase of elections in the state of West Bengal. However, based on the report received from Special Observers on the reported incident of violence at one PS No. 126 under 5- Sitalkutchi(SC) Assembly Constituency, Cooch Behar, ECI has adjourned the Poll. A detailed report is awaited.



In a sudden eruption of violence, At least 4 persons died in firing by central forces when they came under attack in Sitalkuchi, Coochbehar. A young 18-yr-old has died too. TMC claims 5 of its workers have died. initial reports say TMC and BJP workers clashed and it followed the violence and firing took place.



All India Trinamool Congress@AITCofficial :@BJP4Indiaবাংলার নির্বাচনের আসন্ন ফলাফলে ভরাডুবির হাত থেকে নিজেদের মুখ বাঁচানোর জন্য মরিয়া! খুব স্পষ্টতই তৃণমূল কংগ্রেসের ওপর অরাজকতার দায় চাপানোর জন্য @me_locket
নিজেদের গাড়িতে আঘাত করছেন, গাড়ির ভেতর থেকে কাঁচ ভেঙেছেন । উনি ভালো অভিনেত্রী আমরা শুনেছিলাম, আজ আবার দেখলাম।
Translated from Bangla by


Desperate to save their face from the collapse of the upcoming election results in Bengal! To put the blame for anarchy on the Trinamool Congress very clearly

@me_locketHitting their own car, breaking the glass from inside the car. She is a good actress we heard, saw again today. Quote Tweet
লকেট চ্যাটার্জি হেরে যাওয়ার ভয় নিজেরই দলের লোকেদের দিয়ে নিজের এবং সংবাদকর্মীদের গাড়ি ভাঙচুর করালেন।


In all, 373 candidates including 50 women were on the fray for the 44 Assembly seats spread over five districts during the Fourth Phase. The state is witnessing eight-phase elections. Over 1.15 crore voters including 56.94 lakh women and 293 Third Gender persons will decide the fate of these candidates. More than 12,310 Polling Stations have been set up for this purpose.

Bharatiya Janata Party and ruling AITC are contesting for all the 44 seats while Congress, Left parties and their alliance partner Indian Secular Front are fighting under the banner of Sanyukta Morcha. CPI (M) has fielded 22 candidates, BSP has 13, Congress – nine, AIFB – six, ISF – four, RSP- two, and CPI- one.

For the Fifth Phase of State Assembly Elections in West Bengal, the high-pitch electioneering campaign is gaining momentum. The campaigning is also on for the simultaneous By-Elections of two Lok Sabha seats including Tirupati in Andhra Pradesh and Belgaum in Karnataka along with 14 Assembly Constituencies in eleven states.


Details of Electors, Polling Stations & Observers in the poll are as follows:

Table 1: Factsheet for West Bengal
State Phase 1 Phase 2 Phase 3 Phase 4 Total upto Phase 4
Assembly Constituencies 30 30 31 44 135
No of Polling Stations 10,288 10,620 10,871 15,940 47,719
Registered Electors 73,80,942 75,94,549 78,52,425 1,15,81,022 3,44,08,938
Total number of contesting candidates 191 171 205 373 940
No of General observers deployed 20 23 22 35 100
No of Police observers deployed 7 6 9 9 31
No of Expenditure observers deployed 9 9 7 10 35
% of voting till      5 PM 84.63

(Final VTR)


(Final VTR)


(Final VTR)



Please click the link below & support our initiative newsabode.com



Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker