Mamata hits hat-trick; Stalin’s DMK & Cong. wrests power in TN; BJP in Assam; LDF in Kerala & NRC in Puducherry win

By Neeraj Bajpai

Mamata hits hat-trick; Stalin’s DMK & Cong. wrests power in TN; Pinayari Vijayans’s LDF in Kerala & NRC in Puducherry win

In a stunning show of her political acumen and grip on the grass-root level politics, Mamata Bannerjee, who virtually spearheaded singlehandedly against high octane campaign by the BJP, emerged unscathed with flying clours to hit the hat trick and lost her own seat in a nail-biting finish by about 1700.

She lost in Nandigram to the BJP’s Suvendu Adhikari, her former protege. “I accept the verdict in Nandigram – it is not a big deal. Don’t worry,” said the Chief Minister. The yo-yo trends in counting through the day saw Mamata Banerjee and Suvendu Adhikari alternately leading in different rounds, by margins ranging from six to 12,000.

Suvendu Adhikari was declared the winner by 1,736 votes, not long after the Trinamool tweeted: “The counting process for Nandigram has not been completed. Please do not speculate.”

Earlier, she was reported to have won and various media channels had reported same. 


Prime Minister remarks at a public meeting – Didi-Oye Didi-appeared to have backfired on the BJP AND Whole day on the counting day, the taunt was in the eye of hot debates.

In the state polls, held in four states and one Union territory, the ruling parties are expected to retain power in Assam, West Bengal, and Kerala. and In Tamil Nadu- DMK- Congress alliance with others wrested power from AAIDMK., the Opposition party is set to form the government in UT  Puducherry.

As per the latest trends available according to Election Commission, in Assam, trends are available for 122  of the 126 seats. The ruling BJP led NDA is ahead on 71 seats, while Congress-led opposition is leading in 40  seats while independents and others are leading in nine seats.

Chief Minister and senior BJP leader Sarbananda Sonowal are leading in Majuli. Asom Gana Parishad President Atul Bora is leading from Bokakhat seat.  Senior BJP leader and NEDA Convenor Himanta Biswa Sarma, senior ministers Chandra Mohan Patowary, Ranjit Dutta, and Parimal Suklabaidya are also leading. State Congress President Ripun Bora is trailing at Gohpur’s seat while state BJP President Ranjeet Kumar Dass is leading at Patacharkuchi assembly.

In West Bengal, trends are available for 288 of 292 seats.  The ruling Trinamool Congress is leading in 206 seats, BJP is leading in 83 seats.


In Tamil Nadu, trends are available for 232 of the 234 seats. The DMK led UPA is ahead in 140 seats.  DMK is leading in 123 seats, Congress is leading in 17 seats, CPI and CPM are leading in two each. VCK is leading in three.

AIADMK led NDA is leading in 72 seats. AIADMK is leading in 72 seats while BJP is leading in three eats. PMK is leading in six seats.

Incumbent Chief Minister Edapadi Palanisamy, Deputy Chief Minister O Paneer Selvam, DMK leader, and opposition leader M K Stalin are leading in their respective constituencies.

In Kerala, as counting to the 140-seat Kerala assembly crosses three and a half hours trends the results are in favor of the ruling front communist-led coalition LDF. PDF leads in almost 90 plus constituencies, followed by the congress-led UDF in 45 plus seats and NDA in 3 seats.

In the Union territory of Puducherry NDA led by NR Congress is ahead in eight seats in the 12 seats for which the trends are available. The counting of votes, of 23 constituencies out of 30 seats in the Puducherry region is held in 3 centers here.

Assembly elections in four states and union territory were held from March 27 to April 29. The counting is in progress under covid regulations though the election rallies had come under pubic attack as the pandemic spread faster in these belts than after.    


Note – The copy is on the basis of  trends/ results so far/ final results are yet to out 



Please click the link below & support our initiative newsabode.com



Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker