Lalremsiami named captain of India team for women’s junior hockey World Cup

Harpal Singh Bedi

New Delhi, 15 November:  Ace forward  and  Olympian  Lalremsiami  will lead the 18-member Indian Junior Women’s Hockey Team at the  FIH World Cup to  be played in South Africa from 5th to 16th December

Defender Ishika Chaudhary has been named vice-captain of the squad which also includes two other Olympians;- Salima Tete and Sharmila Dev.
In this 16-nation tournament, India is in Pool C and will commence their campaign on 6th December against Russia.
They will take on defending champions Argentina on 7th December in their second match in the round-robin league, followed by their match against Japan on 9th December.

India’s best performance in this prestigious event came in 2013 where they won the Bronze medal after beating England.

Commenting on the selection of the squad Chief Coach Women, Janneke Schopman said, “To pick the final selection of 18 players was extremely difficult especially as all 28 players in the Core Probable Group worked very hard in the past months and made good progress.

” But we feel that we have selected a strong team that is able to compete with every team at the Junior World Cup.”

“With the experience from the Senior team and some great young talent, we will show the best India has to give. The team is very excited as they have waited a long time to compete at the world stage and we’re looking forward to making the most of this great opportunity,” she added.


Lalremsiami (C), Ishika Chaudhary (VC), Bichu Devi Kharibam (GK), Khushboo (GK), Akshata Abaso Dhekale, Priyanka, Marina Lalramnghaki, Ajmina Kujur, Baljeet Kaur, Reet, Vaishnavi Vitthal Phalke, Salima Tete, Sharmila Devi, Beauty Dungdung, Deepika, Mumtaz Khan, Sangita Kumari, Jiwan Kishori Toppo.
Preeti and Prabhleen Kaur have been chosen as alternate players who will be permitted to compete if there is an injury or someone in the squad is ruled out due to Covid.

The knockout matches will take place between 10 December and 16 December.

Other Pools

Pool  A: The  Netherlands, Korea, Ireland, Zimbabwe

Pool B: England, Belgium, Canada, and Uruguay

Pool  D: Germany, Spain, the United States, and South Africa

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker