Goalkeeper Savita to lead 18-member Indian Team at Women’s Hockey Asia Cup Muscat, Oman

Harpal Singh Bedi

New Delhi, 12 January: Ace goalkeeper Savita will lead 18-member India team at the Women’s Hockey Asia Cup to be held from 21 to 28 January at the Sultan Qaboos Sports Complex in Muscat, Oman. 


Savita has been named skipper in the absence of Rani Rampaul who is undergoing rehabilitation in Bengaluru, while seasoned defender Deep Grace Ekka is the Vice Captain of the team which includes 16 players who represented the country at the Tokyo Olympics.


“This is a very important tournament for us and I am happy with the team we have chosen which is a mix of some very experienced players along with talented youngsters who have shown great potential at the international level. “opined  Chief Coach Janneke Schopman.


Though we were a bit disappointed with how things panned out for us at the Asian Champions Trophy, we were able to return to camp in SAI, Bengaluru and put in some good sessions of hockey to prepare well for this challenge,”  he added


India, the defending champion, will battle it out against China, Indonesia, Japan, Malaysia, Singapore, South Korea and Thailand  to retain the title.


Top four-teams from this tournament will qualify for the 2022 FIH Women’s Hockey World Cup to be held in Spain & Netherlands


The defending Champions are grouped in pool A along with Japan, Malaysia and Singapore. They will begin their campaign on opening day against Malaysia on 21 January and will play Japan on 23 January. India will take on Singapore in their last pool A match on 24 January.


The Semifinals will be played on 26 January and the final match on 28 January. 

In the previous edition held in 2017, India beat China 5-4 in a tense shootout to lift the title. 

The  team

Goalkeepers:  Savita (c ) Rajani Etimarpu

Defenders:  Deep Grace Ekka Gurjit Kaur, Nikki Pradhan, and Udita .

Midfielders :  Nisha, Sushila Chanu Pukhrambam, Monika, Neha, Salima Tete, Jyoti and Navjot Kaur

Forwards : Navneet Kaur, Lalremsiami, Vandana Katariya, Mariana Kujur and Sharmila Devi.

Deepika (Junior) and Ishika Chaudhary are  the two Replacement Athletes for the event.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker